Next of Kin

This one was an accidental find. Kind of one of those bittersweet moments that force you to look on the bright side. I was only here because I may have destroyed the side panel of my car in a hurry to get to work…and the repair guy was a few hundred metres down the road…

Silver lining: I had a couple of hours to kill and discovered Next of Kin. Only a baby, these guys opened up three weeks ago, and things are looking good. I kept it pretty simple with a coffee and old reliable avo on toast. But my Noisette bread and 5 Senses coffee really kicked it up a notch. Gosh, good bread is under rated. This multi grain was satisfying.

NOKcoffee

I had a laugh to myself as my dish was served, and I admired the huge serving of perfectly ripe avocado on my plate. Only yesterday I was advising a client that one serving of fats and oils is a teaspoon of avocado. A teaspoon! I know, it makes me sad too. Ah well, things could be worse. I appreciated it whole-heartedly.

NOKavo

NOKmenu

The menu is small but they offer a good selection. Crumpets with baked peach, citrus curd, aerated strawberry mascarpone, and roasted macadamias, anyone? Or how about spiced lamb shoulder tacos for my carnivorous friends? Service was very attentive and super sweet, lots of smiles all round. The sun was shining, why not? There appears to be a nice courtyard out the back too. Oh, and the car panel is good as new. Happy days. X

Next of Kin on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

