Broccoli Pasta and Getting with the Program

Ah so the weekend was momentous… I did two things that are almost entirely unheard of: 1) I ate pasta and 2) I joined Instagram. BIG deal.

It’s not that I have a problem with pasta – I am all for good carbs and wholemeal bread and grainy goodness…but I really just never eat it. A couple of years ago it was an entirely different story, I LIVED off pasta, literally, my pasta bowl would be the size of my head. I was running a lot at the time so it was entirely warranted…in addition to living with my then-boyfriend, so naturally dinner time became a competitive sport between us. Fast forward to now and my pasta love has waned entirely…but I just had a craving for it one evening out of the blue!

So this is a recipe I used to make a long time ago. If I remember correctly it’s an Italian dish that is traditionally made with anchovies. If you eat seafood then go for it and use anchovies because they add a lot to the flavour. But I omitted them this evening now that I am a boring, sad vegetarian (please note my sarcasm). Oh and don’t be shy with the garlic..(you also probably shouldn’t make this on a night that you have to go anywhere/interact with anyone you are trying to make a good impression on). Just a friendly warning.

IMG_0936

Broccoli pasta

(serves 1 if you’re really hungry)

75 g wholemeal pasta

1 x head of broccoli, chopped (include the stalk)

1 x garlic clove, finely sliced

1 X small red chilli, finely chopped

 2 TBS x olive oil

1 TBS x parmesan

1 x lemon (juice + rind)

Bring a large pot of salted water to the boil

Blanch broccoli for 2 minutes until it turns green, remove from water

Using same pot, cook the pasta

Heat olive oil in a pan

Add garlic and chilli and cook for 1 minute

Add broccoli and cook for a further minute

Drain pasta and add to pan along with lemon juice and rind

Serve in bowls and sprinkle with parmesan

Now I know wholemeal pasta can be a bit blah and often tastes like cardboard…but it really does have a lot more fibre than regular pasta and is higher in protein too..so I really do encourage it. If you couldn’t care less about fibre and protein content that go nuts on the white stuff, no judgement here! Traditionally the recipe suggests cooking the broccoli until it starts to soften and go a bit mushy..I love my  broccoli crunchy so I don’t cook it for too long, and the less you cook it the more vitamins it retains – vitamin c in particular quickly leaches into water- so the less cooking time the better 🙂 A lot of people throw the stalk away and just use the florets, but the stalk is good too! Just cut off the outer edges so you are left with the middle bit, slice it up and cook it as normal.

Oh and I almost forgot about the other major event: the Instagram bit! Encouraged by my dear friends I thought I would attempt to catch up with social media and jump on the Insta bandwagon. So follow me, friends. It will be fun! #themelbeanian #awkward #foodie #completelyoutofmyelement xxx

5 thoughts on “Broccoli Pasta and Getting with the Program

  1. Yay welome to the world of Insta! I love all the tidbits of nutritional information you include in each post, and the lovely humility that comes through that’s so true to your nature! This blog will touch many a foodies hearts ❤

  2. Pingback: Rice Paper Rollin’ | The Melbeanian

Leave a Reply

