Tea & Toast [and easy pizza]

Ahh when it rains it pours, hey?

I feel like this is the most over-used saying in my life, but so true. I’ve had a lot of free time on my hands the past couple of months, but this week everything just came on at once. New writing projects to work on, more work opportunities coming in and a holiday that I keep forgetting about :/ Bottom line – not enough time for cooking, eating and writing about cooking and eating!

I have been living off tea and toast for the last three days. (By the way, tea and toast is definitely under-rated) So I figured this is what a lot of people’s relationship is like when it comes to cooking, read: ‘it takes up too much of my time’, and I can relate to that lately, I can, really! But I have a nice little recipe to make when you’re having one of those days when you get home from work and want to collapse on the floor: home made pizza! Yeahhh it makes it all better.

Home made pizzas are really simple to make, and they aren’t all that bad for you if you do it right πŸ™‚

A few tips:

  • look for a tomato paste with minimal added sugars and salt,
  • go for lots of veggies on top,
  • try unusual combinations! potato, caramelised onion and rosemary is a winner,
  • use a reduced fat cheese and go easy on it, and
  • if you’re using meat, go for the less processed options (i.e: stay away from the salami and ham).

 

The How To … (not to undermine your intelligence but just in case):

Split a wholemeal pita bread in half so you have two bases

Spread each base with tomato paste

Throw some toppings on (I used red onion, mushroom, capsicum and basil)

Top with cheese (I used bocconcini)

Put in a hot oven for 10 minutes

Done!

And that’s pretty much it. A really quick, easy dinner to make that takes literally 15 minutes. Hardest thing to do is chop up your veggies.

pizza


If this all just seems too hard still, or it’s been a really, really extra exhausting day, then tea & toast is still definitely an acceptable option. Just put a bit of effort in with your toppings and make it extra awesome. Think banana, tahini and cinnamon (my snack right now) or, even better, can someone please tell me what tomato and peanut butter is like? Word is that it’s pretty amazing. I legitimately saw it on a breakfast menu the other day!

tea&toast

Happy toasting xx

9 thoughts on “Tea & Toast [and easy pizza]

  1. I make a lot of pizza at home and can’t help but wonder if a pita pizza would be too dry or tough. It isn’t too difficult to make the crust from scratch if you’d like to give it a try. I have a nice recipe and method outlined below.
    href=”http://eatingwithdavid.wordpress.com/2014/09/27/pizzalicious/”>Making Perfect Pizza At Home
    Perfect Pizza The Long Version
    Take a look and let me know your thoughts.

    • Hi David, if I leave it for too long it does dry out. It’s no good for leftovers the next day. But it never lasts that long anyway πŸ™‚ I do love making my own pizza dough, but sometimes I just can’t be bothered! Thanks for the recipe links though, I’ll give them a try.

  2. I love making my own pizzas at home, although my boyfriend is usually the one to make the pizza dough. I totally understand the tea and toast thing- I went to school in the UK and British people are all about the tea and toast!

Leave a Reply

