‘The It’ Recreation

IMG_0593

 

PANCAKES! Need I say more? Pancakes would have to come close to one of my favourite foods…I have fond memories of family trips to The Pancake Parlour when we were younger, drowning in a sea of chocolate fudge and maple syrup. My tastebuds have matured slightly and i go for The It nowadays (seriously, I know the entire menu like the back of my hand), but The Pancake Parlour is definitely one of those once in a while special occasion treats these days!

Now that I know better in terms of nutrition..and now that i am old enough that I don’t have mum and dad paying for my breakfast.. I more often make my own pancakes at home. So there was this one phase last year when i fell for the ‘carbs are the devil and i must stay clear of them at all costs’ trend…and I avoided wheat for a while. The positive aspect being that I discovered this simple, healthy recipe for banana pancakes. I first found out about them from pilates legend Cassie Ho from Blogilates, and have been making them ever since.

 

1 x ripe banana

2 x eggs

2 TBS x LSA (linseed, sunflower seeds & almond meal) or you can use oats

Pinch of cinnamon

Throw it all in the food processor and whizz away until smooth. The batter should be fairly thick, if it’s too runny add in some more LSA.

Use a non-stick pan and spray it with cooking spray, or use a teaspoon of coconut oil to coat.

Use about 1/4 cup batter per pancake, pour it in the pan, wait till the bubbles appear on top and then GENTLY flip over. Be careful coz the little guys are delicate!

I usually get about 4 pancakes from this. Stack ’em up and top with greek yoghurt and blueberries. Yum!

 

So just a heads up, they are not going to be your regular delicious pancake stack from The Pancake Parlour with caramelised banana and buttered walnuts, but they are a super healthy, really quick way to get your pancake fix in for the day 🙂 and they taste pretty good!

Leave a Reply

